Midnight at Chez Viertel

I like that title. It sounds a lot more moody and exotic than what the post is actually about.

I’ve made reference to our cat, but I never really told the story. Shortly after Christmas, we got a cat from the Humane Society. Merry is a 2-year-old Siamese mix.  She’s little and very sweet.  She’s a little aloof, choosing to spend most of the time we’re home in our bedrooms.  Still, when we’re back there, she’s very cuddly, choosing to sleep with one or another of us.

Of course, Merry isn’t the only recent addition to our family.

Enter Harry’s birthday present, Fluffy the hamster. Harry was overjoyed.  Annie now wants her own pet.  Alissa thinks we’re ready for a dog.  I’m observing cautiously.

As for Merry, well, she’s a cat.  And we brought rodent into the house.  I think she looks as Fluffy the same way A.L.F. looked at the Tanner’s cat, Lucky.

<young’uns…here’s what you need to know about A.L.F. >>

We’ve seen everything from peaceful coexistence, to general indifference to  Merry trying to push Fluffy’s cage off the dresser  (Darn packaging!) to Merry climbing up on top of said cage.

Which brings us to last night.

Since we don’t yet have a squirt bottle to deter Merry, who was very interesting in Fluffy last night, we decided that Merry would be confined to our room for the night.

Around 11:30, Alissa woke me up and told me it was time to go to bed, so we worked our way to our room, making sure to bring Merry with us I actually had to hold onto her while Alissa turned off the lights, closed the door and got into bed. (She has a tendency to camp out right where the next person needs to land to get into bed.)

That’s when the chaos started.  No sooner were we all in bed, then the door burst open.  Annie had decided that she wanted to sleep with us.  Annie scrambled onto the bed.  Merry scrambled off of the bed made a beeline for Harry’s room and Fluffy.  I chased the cat, turning on the light as I flew out of the room.  Alissa got up to put Annie back to bed.

I caught up to Merry before she reached Fluffy, who was making a considerable din by attacking the bars of her cage (we know this is a thing that we need to address for proper hamster health).

By the time I returned with Merry, Annie had tucked herself into Alissa’s spot on the bed. As Alissa coaxed her back to her own room, I was busy wrestling the cat to keep her from fleeing again.  She only calmed down when Alissa came back and closed the door. Somehow, I didn’t get scratched. I attribute this to my mad cat handling skills.

Harry slept through the whole thing.

I’m not sure what exactly happened while I slept, but I woke up with a 6-year-old and a cat.  I found Alissa on the family room couch.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in humor, Life with Pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

