My Favorite Meal

My favorite meal is not particularly good for me, but it’s actually a rare treat.  The fact is that I llove a good ham and cheese omelet.  That’s the minimum.  Dice some ham and fry it up.  If you want to go in a “meat-lover’s” directory worth additional breakfast meats,  great.  Then you cook the eggs and fold in the meat and cheese so b that every bite of ehegg infused with the meaty cheesy goodness.

I know,  I’ve dammed myself in at least two major religions… probably more.

But the omelet is only one piece of the puzzle.  After all,  one dish does not a meal make.   An omelet is not an omelet without hash browns.  Not home fries.  Not breakfast potatoes.  Not potatoes O’Brien. Hash browns. Of course every rule has an exception.  For me,  it’s the potatoes at Pat and Lorraine’s in Eagle Rock. Their potatoes aren’t truly hash browns. They’re not shredded,  but they’re thinly cut and irregular,  but fried up with onions and peppers.  Ironically,  they never really got the omelets right for me.

As for the bread,  I alternate between English muffins and buttermilk biscuits, ideally with butter and either orange marmalade or apricot jam.  Add a small glass of juice and a bottomless cup of coffee, and you’ve got a nice tasty breakfast.

Why this particular meal?  It’s not a meal that I have on busy days when we have to scramble to get out the door c to be somewhere on time.  It’s not a meal I have when we’re pinching pennies to stay within the family budget.  It’s a meal that happens when we’re c relaxed and unhurried.

Or on vacation. Whether we were exploring I-40 in Arizona and New Mexico or I-15 in Utah and Idaho or I-5 up and down the Pacific Coast, Viertel vacations frequently involved early starts and breakfast in roadside diners. We’re even planning a night in Idaho Falls on our trip to Yellowstone this summer, all on the memory of a ham and cheese omelet breakfast I had there in 1987. Can the reality possibly hold up to the memory?  I doubt it,  but why not give it a chance?

There’s another thing about this meal that I love.  I can’t make it.   I’m a pretty good cook.  But I can never get hash browns right,  and nearly all my attempts at omelets fall apart and end up as scrambles.  Those that don’t, end up overcooked.

So,  as the primary cook in the family,  I love a meal that I don’t prepare.  And one that evokes feelings of leisure,  relaxation and prosperity all at once, well that’s my favorite meal.

 

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt:Food for the Soul (and the Stomach).”

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
Quote | This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

