Adventures in Sunday School: Thanks, Kids!

Last April I was home sick one Sunday.  The main campus of my church streams Sunday Services live on the internet.  I decided to check it out through our website.

Of course, the live stream is not the only thing available on that site.  So I poked around and found a Bible app.  I downloaded it and started exploring and found a reading plan to read the entire Bible in one year.

I’ve read the Books of Moses and the entire New Testament, and I’m generally familiar with the commonly studied stories.  But I have not read the entire Bible. I decided to correct this and started a reading plan.  Each day at lunch, I’d read a selection each from the Old Testament, the New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs.

I generally kept it up for about 3 months, but come July, I started slipping, and by the fall I was about 3-4 months behind on my goal.

Then I agreed to teach Sunday School to Tweens and Middle Schoolers.  The first lesson I taught was The Ten Commandments…pretty straightforward.  A few weeks later, the lesson was out of First Samuel.

Which one was Samuel?  (Samuel is where you find the story of David and Goliath and David’s rise to the throne of Israel.)  That question made me realize that, if I was going to be teaching these stories, I should probably familiarize myself with them.

I redoubled my efforts to read the entire Bible, reading 2 to 3 days per day.  I’m happy to report that, as of today, I’m caught up and on pace to finish the one year reading plan on time.

Will I be a Bible scholar as a result?  No.  But I have a more complete picture of my faith.  It’s a baseline from which I can do further reading and further deepen my understanding.

I probably would have finished eventually, but the urgency I felt in that moment when I realized I was learning what I was to teach the kids at the same time I was teaching it inspired me to correct that oversight, and for that I have the kids I teach to thank.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

