Writing About Writing: Exposition Edition

I did some more fiction work today.  I’m working through a big reveal.  It’s a supernatural story, and that always brings up questions.  By definition, a supernatural story has elements that exist beyond human understanding.  In this case it’s more in the category of fantasy, but it could also apply to a science fiction story in which there is a high enough technology differential to make the tech seem magical to the protagonist.

So, in the case of the reveal I’m working through, I find myself wondering how much detail about the “magic” of the story I need to reveal to make the story work.  I feel like I, as the author, need to know how the magic works, but how much does the reader need to know?

The story is not a procedural.  The characters are not setting out to explain the events in which they’ve been caught up.  They just want to survive.  That doesn’t leave a lot of room for exposition, at least in any way that makes sense.  There are  secrets to be revealed that get to the heart of the story, but the magical mechanics will remain in my mind and notes.  We’ll see if it works.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

