When I Was a Kid…

Have you seen those meme’s on Facebook that seem to be decrying the conveniences of this generation?

meme

Okay, it’s not explicitly a criticism, but the message I get from memes like this is that the digital generation has it easy compared to those of us who grew up in the analog world.  We had to read actual books or use an atlas or mail  letters.

I’ve even taken a tongue in cheek shot at the convenience of email and Skype compared to the hardship of a long distance relationship in the 80’s.

I get nostalgia,  but I find it ironic that memes critical of the cushiness of the digital world  appear on digital media.  Besides, didn’t our parents decry walkman’s (walkmen?) and ghetto blasters with nostalgia for the simplicity of transistor radios, which, in turn, their parents decried out of nostalgia for the technology?

Oh well, I guess I’ll look forward to decrying whatever my kids have that seems over the top compared to my childhood.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I Was a Kid…

  1. Blunderdad says:

    I don’t complain about all these new fangled gadgets, I tend to like them. And I would be willing to bet that had all these things been available when I was a kid, I would have embraced them as wholeheartedly as the Kids nowadays. Good post.

  2. Pingback: On the Other Hand… | "Great" Thoughts

What are your "Great" Thoughts

