My Day as a Watch D.O.G.S. Volunteer

D.O.G.S. stands for Dads of Great Students. Watch D.O.G.S. is a program of the National Center for Fathering and is run through our school’s PTA.  The goal of the program is to get fathers and father figures to spend one day or more volunteering at their kids’ school.

I first heard about the program at the school we were at last year, but the discussion was about whether or not to start up, but we never got that far while I was there.  So when we got to our new school, I decided to get involved.  I signed up for today, in honor of Annie’s half birthday and for Harry’s birthday.

I had a great time.  I volunteered in Annie’s class room (Harry’s next time), had lunch with her, played basketball with some kindergartners and was just a presence on campus.  It was really neat to see the various kids that I already know.

It was also eye-opening to see the amount of work and coordination that goes into making a school run.   I’ve interacted with lots of teachers, but it was humbling to see the dedication of the office staff, the cafeteria workers and recess teachers, and even the janitor all working together behind the scenes to ensure that my kids and their classmates have safe, clean, supportive environment to learn.

If you’re reading this, and you’re in a position to be a Watch D.O.G.S. volunteer, I encourage you to give it a shot.  You won’t be sorry.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

