The Blank Page

No, this is not some reverence to Taylor Swift or her song.

See, I didn’t even link to it.

I’ve been sitting here, trying to think of what to write today.  I’ll be out tonight, so I want to get my post in early.  But the page has been open for several minutes, and it’s just blank.

My mind isn’t blank.  I always have opinions.  I’m always thinking about stuff.

Here’s a sampling:

“Meninists” (really?) are upset over the “Like A Girl” Super Bowl ad?  And they see Frozen as anti-man simply because there are male characters who are villains or comic relief?  If you’ve seen the movie, you know that Christophe is intelligent, competent, and level-headed.  Apparently, none of that counts because he is not the one who saves the day.

Seriously, some guys need to man-up and accept that we live in the 21st century.

Turning our attention to the National Prayer Breakfast, President Obama had this to say:

“And lest we get on our high horse and think this is unique to some other place, remember that during the Crusades and the Inquisition, people committed terrible deeds in the name of Christ. In our home country, slavery and Jim Crow all too often was justified in the name of Christ.”

Needless to say, conservatives jumped all over the President for stating uncomfortable historical facts.  One former Virginia governor going so far to state that he had “offended every believing Christian in the United States.”

He hasn’t.  I’m a believing Christian and I am in the United States and I’m not offended. My question is why any Christian should be offended by a simple statement of historical fact simply because it highlights the fact that we are as sinful as anyone else.

We are you know.

Hmmm…my page isn’t so blank anymore.  Sometimes, we need to embrace and accept the blankness, to see it as a canvas to fill with words or images.  There’s no guarantee that the words or images will be good. I suppose that’s for you to decide as the reader.

In the meantime, have a good weekend.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in News, Personal Reflection, Politics, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

