Thursday Night

What is it about Thursday night?  I’m sure it’s not just me.  I mean, there must  be a reason that TV networks put their best sit-coms on Thursday.  I just can’t quite place what it is.

It’s a school night.

It’s a work night.

There is no tangible difference between Wednesday and Thursday.

And yet, there is a difference.

Looking back, aside from “Must See TV”, I think Thursday night became different in college.  At that point, it was not necessarily a school night.  Some folks didn’t have any Friday classes, and most others were done by noon.  The residence halls would hold “Friday Lunch,” usually a cookout or a spread of sandwich fixings.

Truth be told, most people didn’t have much to get through on Fridays.  I do recall, however, that my fall quarter English class had a short paper due every Friday, so Thursdays were late nights, and some of those papers were doozies.  But I was a college freshman.  They were all late nights.

In any case, paper or not, with Friday being a short day, a minor obstacle to the weekend, Thursday became fraught with anticipation for the weekend.

After college, when I moved to Seattle, we had staff meetings for the homeless ministry where we volunteered.  For me, at least, that meeting had enough of a social component that the feeling of it being the start of the weekend remained, even though Friday held a full 9-5 shift.

And now?  Now Thursday night means a whole bunch of stuff.

No homework tomorrow.

I know what I’m making for dinner and it’s easy.

I don’t have to make lunches tomorrow.

I still have an 8 hour shift to work, but it will go fast.  Fridays are busy in my office.  And then…the weekend.

And it will be  a busy weekend.

My game night is tomorrow.  Annie may be sleeping over at a friend’s house.  We have to decide whether or not to go to the neighborhood association ice cream social.

That’s Friday.

Saturday has Harry going to baseball tryouts and Annie to a birthday party.  We’re watching some friends’ kids for the afternoon and evening.

Sunday will feature church, Sunday School teaching and small group.

Then it’s Monday and we start all over again.

But tonight is Thursday.  The kids are in bed.  I can take my foot off the gas and relax, if just for an evening.

I’ll take it, even if I anticipate going to bed far earlier than in college.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

