The Paradox of a Beautiful Day

Last night, I drove home from the gym around 10 in the evening.  It dry, clear, and so warm that I rolled down my window and opened the sunroof.  In Seattle in January, that amounts to 52 degrees (F).

This came the day after a gorgeous Sunday afternoon.  We had a short afternoon between church and a church function at 4. We went home, had lunch, and put in some laundry. Then we went off to a local park.  It was packed.  From the crowded playground to the soccer fields, to the skate park, it seemed that everyone was outside soaking in the 64 degree January sunshine.  There were even people flying RC drones.  Oddly enough, that gave the whole scene a somewhat futuristic feel.

Annie and Alissa took to the playground.  Harry and I went over to the baseball diamond and got a brief head start on baseball season.

It was wonderful, something I’ve been wanting for a while.

It was also a bit scary.  If it were a glimpse of sunshine amid nine months of dreary gray misery, I’d have no problems with the sunny day.  After all, there’s usually a nice stretch up here in February before return to cold and rain.

The problem is that there’s really not been much in the way of dreary gray misery.  I frequently find my afternoon commute slowed by sunshine slowdowns this winter.

That’s not a common thing for this area.  But in my experience, it’s becoming more common. I’ve only been in Seattle for 18 years, but I’ve seen the winter weather change.  I’ve observed that in my own experience.  I’ve noticed more and more sunshine each winter.  It doesn’t necessarily mean less rain, however. It feels like we get more storms, warmer storms, and not a much extended drizzle.

I just wish that milder winters were all good news. That’s not the case, however.  The snow back doesn’t build up like it needs to, and that impacts wild fires and crops and forest health among other things.

I wouldn’t trade Sunday afternoon for anything, but the bigger picture is worrisome.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

