If I Had a Hammer

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If I Had a Hammer.”

I wish I knew how to play a musical instrument.  I’ve always wanted to play guitar or something, but I never felt like I had the time to learn.  I also didn’t trust my ears or my manual dexterity or whatever other attributes I would need to learn my instrument of choice.

Of course, those were excuses.

I had some exposure to music in high school and college, by singing in choirs and appearing in a mainstage musical.  But after college, musical performance slipped out of my life.

In the meantime, I married a woman with a beautiful voice who has probably forgotten more musical skills than I have ever possessed, even while remaining in possession of more that I ever shall possess.

I’ve seen my son play percussion in a school concert and heard my daughter sing in our church’s kids choir.  I’ve seen my son take a guitar class (not the right format for his age, but I’m confident he’ll return to it when he’s ready) and learn recorder.

This summer, the call went out for worship team volunteers, and thinking it could be interesting to get involved, I joined up.  I’ve been helping run the video side of things.  This was nothing fancy:  mainly slides with lyrics or sermon notes, playing pre-loaded videos or remote feeds from our church’s main campus.

It’s not anything fancy or terribly high tech, but it’s fun being part of the team.

I even joined the Christmas Choir along with Annie and Alissa (although Alissa had a nasty cold that kept her out of the actual performance).  It was really fun to be back in that environment again.

The fact is that I really still want to learn an instrument.  I know the chances of my even performing in any meaningful way are virtually nil.  I just want to learn to make music.

Of course, we now have a keyboard, a classical guitar, a couple of recorders, and a pair of bongos lying around.  Maybe I should pick one up.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
Quote | This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

