Saying Yes

For a long time, I’ve felt too busy to do much outside of my job and my family life.  But something has changed recently.  It started with some low-level volunteering with Harry’s little league team: helping as the bench coach, selling concessions, tossing infield warmups.

In late spring, I thought it would be interesting to volunteer with the church AV team, so I did.

Then, during mid summer, the call went out for VBS volunteers.  It was ill-timed as it was right before our move, but I got a strong sense that I was supposed to say yes.  So I did, after consulting with Alissa, of course.

In the fall, another call went out for volunteers with children’s ministries.  I signed up to teach Sunday School to tweens, and I love it.

I even joined the Christmas Choir.

It’s not just church, though.  I joined the PTA and go to the meetings.  Alissa and I are room parents for Annie’s class.

I can’t say yes to everything, but since I’ve changed my outlook from assuming that I can’t to finding a way to make something work, I have a much greater sense of being connected to the people around me.

And that is a good feeling.

What about you?  Do you start with yes, or do you start with no?  How do you connect with people around you?

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

