A New Year, A New Look

Five years ago, I launched “Great” Thoughts.  I guess that the first post was technically on December 28, 2009, but I always considered the January 1, 2010 post my first real post. Needless to say, I had no idea what kind of experience it was to be.  I didn’t know that I’d correspond with folks from all over the world.  I have a friend who has done a couple of stints at McMurdo Station in Antarctica. As a result, and admittedly because I specifically requested that she take a look when she was there, this blog has been read on every continent.

That’s a fun fact, but it’s not nearly as substantive as the joy that I’ve derived from blogging.

If you’re a regular reader from back when I had regular readers, you may have noticed that I haven’t written as much over the last couple of years.  More accurately, I haven’t blogged as much as in the past couple of years, but I have been doing other writing, although nothing for public consumption yet.

Still, the most fun I had blogging was in 2011.  That was the year that I successfully completed the post a day challenge,  It was so much fun to go through a whole year looking at the world through the eyes of a daily blogger.  I really did look at the world differently, with an acute awareness of how much occurs in the course of daily life.  You have to when “what are you going to write about?” becomes as common a question as “what’s for dinner?”

So…

In honor of the fifth anniversary of “Great” Thoughts, I am going to do it again.  I’m going to post every day this year. Be afraid.  Be very afraid.

But what about 2014?

Well, I started a “year in review” post, and in the course of that reflection I realized that 2014 was such a multi-faceted year.  It was full of all sorts of new stuff and major changes.  It was a year to test my faith, a year of waiting, and a year of saying “yes.”

So I’ll be starting off with a series of reflections on the year that was before moving into the brave new world of 2015.

I hope you’ll join me. I hope you’ll follow “Great” Thoughts and join the conversation.

And as always, as we move into a new year, I want to wish you a happy and healthy new year.

To 2015!  May we all strive to make our world a better place, in whatever circumstances we may find ourselves.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Promotion, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

