Twin Ponds Park Revisited

Three years ago, we were introduced to Twin Ponds Park.  At the time, we did not know that this park would become the closest park to our home.  I did not have a camera on me at the time, so I resorted to Haiku to share the beauty of this place.

We were there today, and when the kids ventured into the woods surrounding the pond, I followed them.  I kept my distance, engaging in a little free-range parenting, but stayed close enough to know if I was needed.  But I let them climb trees and play with sticks and chase ducks  and toss rocks into the water.  They had a blast.

Of course, I also had a camera this time.

Children at Play

Children at Play

I posted these poems three years ago, but I thought I’d share them again with pictures.

 

Golden hued sunlight

Daylight’s waning minutes fade

Shine on still waters

Sun-Dappled

Light and water

 

Ducklings and mother

Swim through sun-dappled waters

Beneath verdant leaves.

Ducks at Twin Ponds Park

Ducks at Twin Ponds Park

 

Slanted trunk, strong limbs

Shelter at the water’s edge

Place of summer dreams.

20140913_171803

 

 

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

