I’m a Bad Blogger

I’m a bad blogger.
It’s been too long. I’m having trouble fathoming where this year has gone. I certainly don’t know how we ended up less than a week out from Christmas. Time flies, I guess.

So shockingly, I have not abandoned “Great” Thoughts. I’ve actually been busy with some other projects that are nowhere near ready for public consumption. You see, I was getting ready for another run at National Novel Writing Month. I had my story plotted out and had spent a decent amount of time getting to know my characters. I was eagerly awaiting the November 1 starting gun.

Then it happened.

Another story popped into my head. It’s a ghost story, because I’m all about the ghost stories. (I’m not.) I don’t know where this came from except the inspiration started on our family pumpkin picking trip.

Initially, I thought I could slam out a rough draft in a week and then jump into NaNoWriMo. Perhaps I would have been better off had I stuck to that plan, but it was not to be. The story grew, although not to anything close to novel-length. At this point it’s a novelette which is something between a novella and a short story.

It’s proven to be a really fun writing exercise and had forced me to really work with various dilemma’s. How to you get rehabilitate an antagonist when that character is “off screen” for the bulk of a story written in the first person from the perspective of a protagonist who carries a very fresh wound at the antagonist’s hand? How do you write a significant kiss in the first person? What does the venue look like for an “All Dead” musical revue? And can I really get away with a giant eyeball wandering around?

Fortunately, I’ve got some friends who will give me input when I’m ready for it. Hopefully it will end up being better than Sharknado.

So that’s what I’ve been up to on the writing front. There’s been a lot of other stuff going on, but I think I’ll actually wrap up here in hopes of letting you know that your bad blogger is back.

I’ve missed sharing my “Great” Thoughts with you and I’m hoping to bring more balance into my writing time.

Until next time….

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

