Adventures in Canning

So I got a canning kit for my birthday and I’ve been excited to use it. Still, it took me a while to decide what to start with. I found the answer at the Lake Forest Park Farmers’ Market.

Blackberries!

Blackberries!

I wasn’t sure I had enough, so I chose something I could (and did) supplement from the vines coming over the back fence.

I won’t go into the play by play, but after a relatively simple process of boiling and stirring, I lowered two pint jars of blackberry jam into the canner.

image

And a few minutes later…

Ta daa!

Ta daa!

Oh, and there was more jam than jars. What to do? What to do?

Works for me...

Works for me…

It was a pretty easy operation for my first time out. I will definitely be trying more of this.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

