Happy Thanksgiving

Yes, my friends, I’m still here. Sadly, I can’t chalk my absence up to diligently slamming out words for National Novel Writing Month. That lasted about five days before I came down with a cold followed by a nice bit of political “happy happy joy joy.”

When I tried to get back on track, I realized that I had not put nearly enough preparation into getting from the first act of my story o the third without curing insomnia for any potential readers. I’m not abandoning this story, but I think I need to finish its prequel first.

No, it’s just been one of those months.

All that is together to the enteral message of today’s post. Today is Thanksgiving in the United States. It’s one of our holidays that is uniquely rooted in our nation’s history and lore. It is accessible to all Americans regardless of religion or ethnicity or any other category by which we may choose to define ourselves. The neat thing s that even if you’re not American, you can probably relate on one level or another to taking time to celebrate and reflect on the positive, to look beyond the everyday difficulties and annoyances in search of those things that we can embrace in thankfulness. Family, faith, health, love, life itself. What a wonderful place to start!

As for me, I’m thankful for my family, especially my wife whose love I can rely on even when I stay out too late talking politics with visiting family. And of course I’m thankful for Harry and Annie who leave me awestruck (usually in a positive way) on a daily basis. My mom goes on the list, as does Alissa’s family.

I’m thankful for my friends and home and health and my job. Lastly, I’m thankful for you, my readers who allow me to share my words with you.

Wherever you may be, have a wonderful Thanksgiving. And remember, never let political differences come between you and your family. Politics are important, but not more so than family.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Anonymous says:

    How wonderful to start my day with your great thoughts, Andrew. Thank you. Love and Happy Thanksgiving to your family all

What are your "Great" Thoughts

