Writing about Writing 2012 Edition

So I thought I’d share a bit about where I’m going writing-wise.  Admittedly, the short answer is that I don’t know, but neither lack of direction nor a readily available short answer has never stopped me from coming up with a longer answer.   

I think it might be some kind of corollary to the notion that events that go smoothly don’t make for interesting stories.

Anyway, about a month ago I took some baby steps.  First, I submitted eight poems for submission to a literary magazine.   I won’t know for a few months if they’ve been accepted.  I still think it’s funny that I’m leading with poetry since I don’t consider myself a natural poet, but I think the shorter format allows me to come up with a finished product  in a shorter time frame.  Anyway, I’ll let you know what happens with that.

There’s something more immediate, however.  I’ve mentioned several times that I’m going to be going to Write on the Sound, a writing conference in Edmonds, Washington, this weekend.  I actually submitted a poem and a short piece of fiction to the contests.  I’m certainly not expecting to win, but one never knows. 

The more interesting, and to be quite honest, nerve wracking part of the conference will be at the beginning. I signed up for a pre-conference fiction critique workshop.  There were only a few spaces, and each attendee submits ten pages of fiction to be discussed and critiqued by the group.  We were emailed the samples a couple of weeks ago, and of course opening mine revealed all the errors glaring at me.  I hope that’s natural.  Each of the other submissions was so different in style, that it’s hard to compare the pieces. 

I’m sure I’ll have more to say about Write on the Sound after the fact. 

Lastly, there’s the question of National Novel Writing Month.  I’ve become a bit ambivalent about my participation this year, mainly because of some other positive developments in my life, namely that I’ve joined a gym and am getting started on a real physical training regimen.  I’m still adjusting to setting an alarm before 5 AM to get a workout in before work, and I’m just not sure if trying to write a 50,000-word novel in a month is the best idea this time out.

Where I’ve come down on the matter is that I’m going to try, but I’m giving myself permission to come up short if that shortcoming is in the service of  really establishing  my workout schedule and making it a regular part of my lifestyle. 

So that’s what’s been going on lately.  Thanks for staying with me, everyone!

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

