Jury Duty

Well, this week has me participating in that great American tradition of jury duty.  I for one find the experience both fascinating and maddening.  It’s fascinating because I find the legal system interesting.  It’s also an integral part of our democracy, so it’s a type of service that I welcome.  That being said, it’s also maddening.  The $10/day plus mileage represents a significant pay cut , or I have to burn vacation time.  This is one of my main criticisms of the way we do juries in this country.  I think it would make more sense if businesses were required to pay employees for jury service and then be allowed to write off the amount on taxes.  This would allow a greater cross section of our society to serve as jurors without having to worry about the financial hit.

 

Anyway,  that’s my soap box on jury service.  I am hoping to  use the waiting that is endemic to our legal system to get some writing done, but I’ll have to go pretty silent if I gett on a jury.

 

Until I’m done.   Mwahahahah!!!

 

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

