What to Do with Rhubarb?

Now that tax season is over, I ger to return to the kitchen. That also means that we get to reactivate our Full Circle Farms membership. Full Circle Farms is not technically a “community supported agriculture” (CSA) operation, but it has it’s roots in that movement. In the interest of brevity (surprisingly, I do know that word), and because my experience with Full Circle is comparable to a CSA experience, I’m going to refer to it as a CSA.

Anyway, one thing that I really like about CSA’s is that they force me out of my produce comfort zone by confronting me with with foods that I’ve never really knew much about, let alone considered using. Because of this, I now find myself looking forward to enjoying kale when it comes into season. I now know what fennel is. I voluntarily purchased eggplant and used it successfully.

Which brings us to rhubarb. I’ve eaten rhubarb, and (apparently incorrectly) identified a subsequent cold sore as an allergic reaction. (Don’t ask. I don’t know.) Every time I’ve encountered it, it has manifested in a finished product, meaning that I would not know a rhubarb if one came up to me and introduced itself. Until now, that is.

20120519-195353.jpg

Well, along with some vegetables and the afore-mentioned purple stalks, we also found ourselves with some tasty-looking peaches. This helped me change my Google search from “What the heck should I do with fresh rhubarb?” to something more useful: “peach and rhubarb recipe”.

There were enough results for Google to auto-suggest the wording, and I ultimately decided on Rhubarb Peach Clafouti.

With an unstructured Saturday morning, all the required ingredients on hand (!) and a clean kitchen(!!) in my corner, I decided that today was the day.

There are basically two components: the fruit and the batter. I pretty followed the recipe as written, taking the author’s advice on four eggs over three and using Pamela’s Gluten-Free Pancake Mix. My only real deviation was an accidental one. I added the butter to the batter too early. It does not seem to have been an issue.

First, I sliced up the rhubarb. Then I peeled and sliced the peaches and arranged them in a cooking spray-coated cake pan.

20120519-203127.jpg

Next, I placed the rhubarb in the pan along with the sugar and vanilla.

20120519-203446.jpg

A little time on medium-high heat caused the sugars to caramelize, making everything nice and bubbly.

20120519-203647.jpg

Eventually, the liquid had cooked of leaving candied rhubarb which was added to the pan with the peaches.

20120519-203842.jpg

While all this cooking was going on, I’d been mixing up the batter which I poured over the fruit.

20120519-204004.jpg

Half an hour later I pulled this out of the oven.

20120519-204108.jpg

After letting it cool for about five minutes, I inverted it, imperfectly, onto a plate and sprinkled some powdered sugar while dodging little hands..

href=”https://bluedrew.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/20120519-204259.jpg”>20120519-204259.jpg

The kids were getting pretty hungry, so there was little left to do but slice and serve.

20120519-204503.jpg

It was met with general acclaim and now I not only know what to do with rhubarb, but have another technique that I can apply to other ingredients.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to Do with Rhubarb?

  1. lizv42 says:

    Wow! That looks great!

  2. sybaritica says:

    I like the upside down technique!

What are your "Great" Thoughts

