A Friend’s Visit

It’s hard to believe how quickly April has gone. I expected it to be busy. Such is the lot of a tax professional, after all. But somehow, this month has been absolutely packed.

It started with a chance to let my geek flag fly. My life-long friend, Clint and his wife, Dawn, were in town for Emerald City Comic Con. It was a working vacation for them as they were exhibiting at the convention, promoting their comic label and their Zombie Ranch webcomic. Harry and I went to the convention on Friday, and we made it a family affair on Saturday. Clint and Dawn were staying with us Monday night, so we stayed home Sunday to clean.
Until the laptop died and we went out and bought the first of two iPads.

Our conversion to Apple products is a different story, but let it suffice to say that I’m writing this post on my iPad, and the only difficulty I have is the fact that I’m getting used to a new interface.

Anyway, Clint and Dawn staying with us was by far my favorite part of the weekend. I wasn’t sure what to expect, honestly. I’ve know Clint since second grade, and we have a great many shared experiences that make for easy conversation. I blame him for starting the “random word role call answer” tradition in second grade that resulted in my confessing my love for a fellow student during role call…to the whole class. We’ve shared countless hours of gaming, far too many Domino’s pizzas and laughter over stupid and not so stupid things.

But my whole grown up life has been up here in Washington, and he’s been in L.A. So when it comes to real jobs, and mortgages and marriage and family, we don’t have that shared context. Come to think of it, we have never done anything so simple as a double date. My high school relationship was long-distance, and Clint went to a different school, so he never met her. I never met any romantic interest of his until I met Dawn, and I only met her once before they were married.

It turns out, I had nothing to worry about. They came into our home and had dinner at our table. The conversation was easy and laughter frequent. We were all participating, even the kids. Harry wanted to know all about zombies and show Clint his AT-AT. Annie was her charming self.

There’s something pretty neat about seeing your life-long friend shambling zombie-style after your kids, or seeing your daughter crawl up into his lap with a book and a blanket that erases all the intervening years.

Add in visit to the AFK Tavern to play a game and hoist a pint, and it was pretty easy to see why we’ve hung together for three decades.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

