Flattened!

I’m back.  I apologize for my absense, but all will be explained. 

First, let me get Florida out of the way.  It’s really no surprise.  Mitt won and has reclaimed that air of inevitability.  Paul will keep doing what he does, and Santorum is clearly not going to truly gain the mantle of the anti-Romney.  Say your goodbyes to him because he’s not going to be around long.  The Republican establishment is jumping on the Romney bandwagon, leaving Newt in his favorite position of insurgent bomb-thrower. The problem is he’s throwing those bombs at Republicans.  

Awkward.

He says he’s going to take it to the convention and fight for the nomination.  All I can say is “go right ahead.”  We should be in for a quiet month with scattered primaries in Romney-friendly territory before Super Tuesday on March 4.  Romney needs to use it to consolidate is power and deliver a decisive blow on that day.  Basically, he needs to flatten Newt.  He needs to wrap up the nomination and spend a lot of time getting coaching on how to not look and sound like Thurston Howell III. 

As for me, well, I was flattened last week by a big, nasty bug.   I mean flattened.  It wasn’t even a cold.  Just fevers, chills, and extreme fatigue.  That knocked me out from Thursday night until Sunday.  There were  repeated attempts to get up and go to work, but they invariably ended with Alissa quietly saying something to the effect of “I don’t think you’re going in.”  My response to what would normally be fighting words?  “Okay.  Can you bring me my phone?” 

Sunday is when it got scary with the coughing, the questioning my ability to breathe, the bizarre fever dreams and stuff.  We’d already decided to go to the doctor on Monday, and fortunately tea alleviated the worst respiratory issues, thus sparing us a late night in the ER.

Monday brought a diagnosis:  Pneumonia.  My blood oxygen was at 86%, noticably impacting mental acuity to the point where I could not maintain a consistent train of thought.

It took two more days at home, I’m still on antibiotics and I’m still getting nebulizer treatments, but I”m finally back among the living and doing quite well.  Alissa, of course, has been amazing. 

I should be back to my as-yet-undefined-regular schedule. 

Oh, and there’s news to break.  If you want a sneak peak, check out the comment thread on About “Great” Thoughts.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flattened!

  1. Saorcha says:

    Wow! Really hope you’ll be tip top very soon. All the best. Saorcha.

  2. o my gosh! wish you a speedy recovery. My ongoing doctoral research is on pulmonary mechanics and I know the severity of pneumonia. take ‘real’ good care.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

