To End so that I May Begin Anew

With the passing of 2011, 2012 has begun.  As has become a “Great” Thoughts tradition it is time for me to make my public my New Year’s resolutions. 

Of course, last year I made the spur of the moment decision to do a post every day.  The reasoning was that I needed to build my writing muscles, to get in the habit of writing every single day.  Well, in that I was successful.  So, what now? 

Well, as I’ve said in other posts, I’ve decided to drop my blogging commitment from a post every day to a minimum of a post every week.  This is not my resolution.  The reality is that the idea of posting only once a week seems absolutely absurd to me after the past year.  I’d miss the opportunity to connect with readers far too much.  However, committing the post every day had its cost, in any number of areas.  Sometimes, I had to let a good idea go by because I didn’t have the time to put it into a good post, and by the time I could, the material was not timely.  Sometimes, I was too tired to write anything, but I put out posts that were not of the quality that I would normally demand of myself.  More than anything, posting on a daily basis didn’t leave me time for much other writing.  By moving from a daily commitment to a weekly one, I’m giving myself permission to spend an evening working on something without posting it.  So, don’t be shocked when I post more than once a week.  It is more likely to happen than not.

So, what are my resolutions?  Well, the first one is also not a secret.  I’m going to write a novel.  This will be part of National Novel Writing month in November.  The goal for NaNoWriMo participants is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November.  The point is not to produce a finished product. It’s to finish a first draft of the novel for future editing and revision.

Now, I have no idea if I have a future as a novelist, and as such NaNoWriMo may be the least important resolution, little more than an amusing exercise. (It will be couple with No Shave November, after all.  You see, I’m still in the process of exploring the art of writing.  I have a long way to go to develop my writing into something marketable, including the process of figuring out what kind of writer I am.  So my second resolution is going to be to take some concrete steps to engaging with other writers and getting professional eyes on my work.  To that end I’m going to attend at least one writing conference, Write on the Sound in Edmonds, Washington in October.  I’m also going to enter at least one writing contest this year if not more or submit at least one work for publication.  The bonus would be to find a serious writing class, but I may be pushing my limits here.

So, there they are? 

And what about now?  Well, it’s somewhat ironic that 2011 ended with me on a literary upswing. I’m sitting here with lots of things to write about.  But I think that for my choice to post daily in 2011 but not in 2012 to be meaningful, there needs to be a break.  This last endeavor must end before I can step out into the next one, or to quote Semisonic, “every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” 

So it is time to end what began on January 1, 2011; time to end that adventure with a clean break, even if only for a day or so before setting myself on the path to the next great adventure. Accordingly, there will be no post tomorrow, January 2. 

But fear not.  Our parting should be short-lived.  After all, the Iowa caucuses are on Tuesday.  Hold on to your hats!

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

