2: The Penultimate Post

You know, normally, I have a hard time coming up with titles for posts, even if I know what I want to write about.  Today, it’s the reverse.  The title was easy, alliterative and descriptive of the second to last stop on the long strange journey that has been 2011.  But what’s a blogger to say?  I know how I want to end it all, but that’s for tomorrow. This is today.  Fortunately, Erica Johnson, one of the admins over at The Daily Post has spared me the agony of this decision with, of all things, a questionnaire. So, without further ado…

  1. Why did you start the Post a Day/Week Challenge?

I started the Post a Day Challenge before I knew it existed.  I made a New Year’s resolution on the fly to build my writing muscles by committing to do a post every day in 2011.  It wasn’t until January 19 that I stumbled across the challenge and joined up.

  1. Describe the state of your blog at the time you started the challenge.

Nascent. I’d been at it for over a year.  I had 78 posts under my belt, but I was still getting my feet wet.  In a way, I was restarting.  I’d been getting into a good rhythm of writing over the summer of 2010 when events caused me to put “Great” Thoughts on the back burner. Of course, one of the tools that I used in the events of that fall was another blog. For all that, I still felt like a complete newbie to blogging.  To some degree I still do.

  1. How did your blog evolve over the course of the challenge?

I suppose that question could be better asked of a reader.  From my perspective, it’s hard to say.  It went through seasons.  Sometimes, I was all about the politics.  Others, it was religion or family life that took center stage.  Looking back, I think it reflects life.  What was going on at the time? What drew my attention?  I also felt like I was having a conversation with my readers, even though they don’t post comments nearly as much as I’d like.  Ahem…

  1. Did you post as often as you had hoped? Why or why not?

YES!  Assuming I don’t get hit by a bus before posting tomorrow, I will have done at least one post every day in 2011.  There were a few instances in which I woke up the morning after posting only to find that the post was saved as a draft, but those got posted very quickly, so I’m counting them.

  1. What type of blogging strategy works best for you?

Good question.  The funny thing is that it’s not daily posting.  Don’t get me wrong. This has been a great experience, and I got everything I wanted out of it.  As I said before, this was an exercise in building my writing muscles, an attempt to get into the habit of writing regularly.  What I found, however, was that the demands of posting every day took away from my ability to do more detailed posts and work on other projects.   So for 2012, I’m going to commit to posting at least once a week, but writing every day.

  1. If you could go back to the beginning, what would you do differently?

Honestly, not a whole lot.  I knew going in that there were going to be filler posts, so that’s not a problem.  I did learn one lesson, however.  If you are on fire one day and are able to write to solid posts, save one for the next day when you’re got absolutely nothing.

  1. What are you most proud of accomplishing this year?

Finishing while maintaining my roles and husband father and employee for two different companies.  Also, I’ve been pleased with the manner in which posts written late at night hold up under the light of day.

  1. Name 3 great blogs you discovered through the challenge.

I had some enjoyable conversations about Christianity and atheism with Oscar over at Some Musician.   Mellifluousmurmurs is a nice blend of photography and writing. Politically Me is a nice does of chicken soup for the liberal’s soul.

  1. What surprised you about the challenge?

I was surprised how many people seem to have gone the distance.

  1. What advice would you give to others who want to blog regularly?

Don’t panic if you want to write off-topic.  Give yourself time to explore.  Life is many faceted so don’t discard inspiration simply because it’s off topic. 

  1. What are your blogging goals for 2012?

Well, I’m going to dial my commitment back to Postaweek 2012 in the interest of quality over quantity.  I also want to incorporate more photography into my work. 

Well, that’s it for this questionnaire.  Tomorrow will bring us to the end of this journey and the beginning of a new one!

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

