9: Lighted Neighborhoods, Late Night Shopping and Appliance Emergencies

So let’s set up Murphy’s Law here. 

A few weeks ago, our dishwasher stopped draining.  As neither of us is particularly handy, we decided to call an appliance repair service.  They came out, found a plastic tag in the garbage disposal and were unable to find any evidence that the thing was not draining.  They said it could be a clogged output hose and they could replace it for $200.  Of course their demeanor was apologetic about the price, as if they didn’t think the work was worth that amount.  They also made it out to be a user-servicable problem, so I paid them for the service call and sent them on their way.   I mean, really, what could go wrong, right?

Oh yeah, I did this in the full knowledge that we were hosting Christmas.  You know, in our home.

Well, everything’s been going great. Yes, there’s still been some shopping for last minute incidentals and such, but we’ve been on a pretty good glidepath for being ready just in time for grandparents to arrive tomorrow afternoon.

Well, that is until I opened the dishwasher and found the base full of water. Today, two days before Christmas.  Well, Alissa got home from work earlier that anticipated, so she took over from my feeble progress at getting the living room cleaned up and I went to Home Depot looking for hose…I think I got the wrong one, an air gap…the sales guy didn’t know what one was, and the means to McGyver a siphon to empty the built up water.  I didn’t want a shop vac. 

I got a shop vac…sort of.  I got this little device that placed a shop vac top on a 5 gallon bucket.  I also got a second bucket so I have something big enough to thaw a turkey that is too big for our fridge.  Well, to make a long story short, I coun’t figure out where the hose I was replacing attached to the mchine.  I did however find a lego in the air gap, and that it’s removal seems to have restored the the dishwasher to full functionality. 

Well, that took up my time until we went exploring neighborhoods for Christmas lights.  We were very successful, and the kids were still thrilled when left at 9:30 to go grocery (and gift) shopping. 

Anyone got some egg nog?

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

