Of Rolling Pins and Cookie Cutters

So, I think a little context would be in order here.

I’m not a recipe guy.  I will use a recipe to get a basic process of food preparation down.  I will use that knowledge to determine how important measurements are and then act accordingly.  For example, I never measure the water for pasta.  I do measure it for rice.  As early as a second attempt at a recipe will find me modifying it to suit my taste.

Once, I was trying to figure out what to do with a left over half can of pumpkin after making a chocolate pumpkin pie.  I decided to experiment and began throwing incredients in.  Flour, salt and baking soda in amounts comparable to Nestle’s Tollhouse Cookies, some brown and white sugar, some melted chocolate, and the afore-mentioned pumpkin and some cinnamon, nutmeg and too many cloves.  I used not a single measuring cup or spoon and came away with something between a soft cookie and a flat quickbread.  In any case it was something tasty…with too many cloves. 

Well, today, I baked.  Snickerdoodles were no problem  I whipped up  a bag of Pamela’s Sugar Cookies, rolled them in cinnamon and sugar and pounded them flat.  Likewise, the chocolate chip cookies were routine.  The part that gave me pause was the sugar cookies.  I’ve never been comfortable with rolling pins and cookie cutters.

My earlies experience in the area came in 2000.  Alissa and I, three months into our marriage decided to host three debate watches between Al Gore and George W. Bush.  For refreshemnts we made sugar cookies.  We found a horse and attempted to modify the ears to look like a donkey.  We found an elephant.  A tree signified the Green Party and just for kicks we had a cowboy for the Reform Party.  (A rugged individualist thing, I guess.)  We also had a dove for peace and civility and a generic star.  Naturally, they were frosted in red, white and blue. 

At that point, Alissa was more comfortable with the rolling and cutting elements.  I baked, she cut and that’s been our division of labor ever since. 

Until today. 

We need to bake.  Alissa and Harry needed to shop.  Annie needed to nap.  It was all on me, so I stepped up and produced a passable assortment of stockings, snowmen, gingerbread men, bells, doves, horses and stars.    I was surprised at how easily it went, and I tied to figure out what I did right.

Well, since I was operating outside my comfort zone, I followed all the directions and made all the measurements.  I organized my workspace, and didn ‘t  have to make counter space appear where none could possibly be hiding.

In other words, I went by the book and everything turned out fine.

How boring!

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

