Incentive

You know, sometimes you have to just work through stuff to get to where you want to go.  That’s very much the case for me this year.  The destination, in this case, is more work.  

Let me explain.

As long-time readers know, I work as a seasonal tax preparer.  Recently, I became comfortable revealing publically that I am a seasonal tax preparer for H&R Block.

Disclaimer:  The opinions expressed in this blog do not represent those of H&R Block, and I can’t give tax advice on the blog. 

Also, you needn’t worry that Great” Thoughts is going to become a vehicle for promoting my tax prep work. 

Anyway, back to my original point about seeking a destination. 

H&R Block doesn’t let just anybody prepare taxes for them.  My career as a tax pro began in 2005, when I discovered Harry was on the way.  In that moment of pre-parental panic, I decided that we needed more income.  Two of my coworkers worked for Block and liked it, so I decided to look into it.  At that point, I had to take something like 72 hours of tax classes, pass the class with at least 70% and pass the final with a score of at least 80%.  That made me eligible to be hired.  

The next step was a series of business skills, software, ethics, bank agency and tax update classes.  After a couple of weeks off for the holidays, it was time to get down to business and work through a season.  That was 2006. 

To be rehired in 2007, I had to take another 24 hours of classes including updates to tax laws, expansion of my tax knowledge and more agency and ethics classes. 

I didn’t re-up for 2008, mainly because we had moved.  By fall of 2010, I was ready to look into it again.  That being said, I wasn’t super-eager and I kind of dragged my feet on looking into the matter.  Ultimately, I decided to take a tax knowledge assessment to see if I could be hired without going through the basic class again.  I sat down cold one afternoon, took the assessment and passed with the required score. 

After a job interview, I was hired and plugged back into the system for more training. Once again, it was a regimen of tax knowleged, ethic, agency and business skills.  since I had gone from a franchise office to a corporate one and had been gone for three whole seasons, I had the distinction of being a first year pro with two years of experience. 

So, I worked the 2011 season, and that brings us to where I am now.   Once again, I need to complete 24 hours of training.  It’s not a tall order, but it’s been complicated this year.  At the end of the season, I thought that I had to do all my training in a classroom, so I waited until late summer to see what classes were available. 

Well, somewhere along the line, Block restructured the continuing education program.  Now, it looks like it’s going to be a change for the better, but there were some glitches in the system that caused delays in finding classes and such.  It’s to be expected, but expectation does not make said glitches easy to deal with.  But I’ve dealt with them.  I’ve been though my skills class.  I’ve gotten my ethic and agency out of the way.  I’ve got my coursework planned out and the exam to increase my certification level scheduled.

Now, I just need to do it.  It’s been a lot of hard work, and there’s more ahead, but I can see the end of the road, and when I get there I will be able to relax and enjoy Christmas and New Year’s before getting to work.  And if being able to relax and enjoy Christmas is not incentive enough to get the work done, I don’t know what is.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

