An Endorsement: Ed dos Remedios

I’m going to do a post next week in which I go through my voter’s guide and make endorsements, but I wanted to do a special one tonight.

A year ago, Alissa and I became involved in the efforts of many parents to save Lynnwood’s Kids Klub Preschool from the budget axe. As a result of our successful effort, we learned more that we could have ever hoped to about the City of Lynnwood’s political workings.  The cause of the proposed cuts was a large budget shortfall, one that had been exacerbated by some poor fiscal decisions on the part of the city government.

Early in this process, the city council appointed Ed dos Remedios for a seat vacated by the previous council member’s appointment  to a vacant Snohomish County Council seat.  Councilman dos Remedios, a retiree and veteran of both the US Army and a previous stint on the Lynnwood City Council stepped into a situation that seemed desparate and dysfunctional.  He was appointed by Council President Mark Smith to chair a budget task force with the job of preparing an alternative to the Mayor’s budget.

From the moment Councilman dos Remedios stepped onto the scene, I felt a sense of calm.  He just gave off a sense of intelligence and thoughtful competent leadership.  From his first comments to a council work session, I knew that my son would have a preschool at the end of the day.

He was always personable and accessible, and always polite and reassuring.  This is what we need from elected officials at  all levels of government.  We need leaders like Ed dos Remedios who will step back from the partisan and ideological bickering and simple to the hard work of governing.  

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I don’t live in the City of Lynnwood, so I can’t vote for or against Ed dos Remedios.  Accordingly, it feels a bit odd giving an endorsement in this race, but  at the same time, it feels very right.

I can’t vote for Ed dos Remedios, but I sure wish I could.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

