A Sighting

I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about tonight.  Then, I took out the trash. 

As I walked down the path near our condo complex’s small playground, something caught my eye.  I looked up to see a large bird with a light underbelly and large dark wings take flight and soar silently across the sky, disappearing behind the adjacent garage building. 

Of course, my first thought was and still is that it’s an owl, although the light underbelly seemed odd for a bird that would strike from above in darkened skies.  But really, that’s all I could make out, and it was a fleeting image at best.  Still, I’d love to know what creature could possess such speed and silent majesty and yet be forever concealed by night’s cloak.

Well, I did a couple of searches on nocturnal birds, but everything seemed to be focused on the calls, which I did not hear.  So, if there are any birders out there who might be able to tell me what kind of large nocturnal bird with a light belly and dark wings inhabits the dense suburbs of southern Snohomish County, Washington, please drop your two cents in the comment jar.  I even changed the settings so you shouldn’t have to log in.

This is from Pennsylvania, so it's probably not the bird I'm looking for.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

