Armchair Occupation?

Have you joined Occupy Wall Street or Seattle or Boston or Los Angeles or…?  You get the picture.  I’ll admit that aside from writing about the movement and making sympathetic tweets or Facebook shares (did you know that there’s a “Great” Thoughts Facebook page?), I have not participated in any tangible way…yet.  My excuse is parenthood, even if it’s not a great one. 

Still, for those of us who still have jobs and busy lives, there are ways to join the movement.  You too can tweet and post articles on social media.  If you have space in you budget, check out the “needs” list of your local action.  Send them a pizza.  Stop by for a few minutes and chat with the occupiers.  Listen to their stories first hand.

A few days ago, I tweeted that Guy Fawkes Day (yes, I know he was not a crusader for the liberal vision of justice), November 5 is a Saturday this year and could prove interesting.  I was just referring to the general spirti of social activism gripping the world. Well, my curiosity caused me to poke around some more and discover that November 5 is Bank Transfer Day.  What is Bank Transfer Day?  Well, it’s a day for us to vote with our dollars and close our accounts with big national banks and move our money to local community banks and credit unions.  (Full disclosure, we no longer have deposit accounts with Bank of America, but we are still paying on some credit accounts.)

If you embark on this course, be careful about hidden fees and such.

Then there’s this little tidbit.  This is Dylan Ratigan’s proposed constitutional ammendment to end corporate personhood and remove money from our political system.  If you want politicians to listen to voters instead of donors, sign this petion and publicize it to your friends.

Well, there are some ways to be involved…assuming the world doesn’t end tomorrow.

UPDATE:

Here’s one more.  Want to target the Koch brothers, who are throwing huge amounts of money to support right wing causes?  Here’s a site listing their products. If you choose to boycott them, be sure to politely make it known to the folks who run the stores at which you shop.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Armchair Occupation?

  1. I’m kind of on another continent. I could go to the one in Sydney theoretically, but I live in a rural town several hundred kilometres away, with no means of travel, and I’m kind of busy. Also I’m not sure about a lot of their aims, at least in Australia, though I like their general message.

    • Andrew says:

      @greatlakes…thanks for dropping in from down under. I think I have a couple of readers from your country. How are things going down there? Didn’t you recently replace a conservative government with a more labor-oriented one?

      • Things are going alright. Hung parliament and a political system that has been degenerated to soundbites and shallow slogans has made watching the news… extremely disenfranchising.

        Australia is run by the Labor party but it’s nothing too syndicalist. The power the unions have over the running of the party means anti-Union bills don’t get a chance, but the power of big business, especially the mining companies, mean that any foray in the other direction is doomed to failure.

  2. Some good and practical examples for us armchair occupiers to get involved. I too have that sting of responsibility biting at the back of my brain every I hear about the occupy movements.

    • Andrew says:

      I still plan to get down there with my kids, although I’m sure there’s a parenting pitfall in introducing a 5 year old and 3 year old to protest and civil disobedience. The little one has always had passive resistance down.

  3. Pingback: Armchair Occupation? « lostwhitemale

What are your "Great" Thoughts

