In Defense of Herman Cain

Okay, so Herman Cain’s 9-9-9 tax plan is absurd on its face and would represent a massive tax increase on working Americans.  There are probably a hundred other things that would disqualify him from getting my vote.  But I will say this in his defense.  On Tuesday night’s debate, Rep. Michele Bachman chose to make this absurd quip about Cain’s tax plan.

“When you take the 999 plan and turn it upside down, the devil is in the details.”

Really Michele?  A mark of the beast reference simply because a 9 and a 6 vertically mirror each other?

And you really expect to be taken seriously.

Like I said, there are plenty of valid reasons to attack Cain and 999.  The shape of the numbers is not one of them.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Defense of Herman Cain

  1. I’m no fan of Michelle Bachman but I would consider that no more than a lame attempt at humor. The one interesting part of his proposal, and one that deserves some public debate, is the idea of a national consumption tax. The US should look strongly at some sort of national value added tax. Canada brought one in and it got to a budget surplus without killing the economy.

    • Andrew says:

      I can’t argue with you on Canada. I think I would be reluctant to support something like that in the US at this time. My reasoning is that consumption taxes fall more heavily on people who have to work for a living because consumption accounts for a larger percentage of our income. Canadians may pay more in taxes through the GST, but they also get more for those taxes that has a tangible benefit to their daily lives, namely single payer health care. So I guess I could support a consumption tax in exchange for something like single payer health care, but I think we as a country would have to sift toward an acceptance of a bigger government way of doing things.

      Thanks for joining the discussion, by the way.

      • You would need to come up with an offsetting tax break in other areas for people under a certain income as sales taxes are regressive. People under a certain income in Canada receive a rebate check in the mail.

      • Andrew says:

        I was thinking of something like that. I haven’t researched the Canadian tax structure. I assume they also have various provincial and local taxes. Do they also have income taxes?

What are your "Great" Thoughts

