Time for a Reintroduction?

I don’t know if I can still say that I’m new to the vagaries of blogging, or just that I don’t fully understand some of them.  At any rate, I became a bit confused over the last 48 hours because I started getting a lot of traffic on this post from nearly three weeks ago.  Naturally, I’m thrilled by just about any non-spam traffic, but I was confused as to why. That’s when I started checking the incoming links only to discover that the post was (and as of this writing is) the featured post on not one but two WordPress.com tag pages!

This is the part where being unsure of the vagaries comes in.  I have no idea how this happens or if it’s something of a “big deal” or not. Who makes the decision for feature a blog?  I’m assuming it’s not an automated process, and so I do want to thank whoever made the decison.

Whatever the process, I do recognize that I may be picking up some new readers, so I thought I’d take a moment to reintroduce myself and “Great” Thoughts.

My name’s Andrew Viertel, and I am a blogger.  Well, I’m not only a blogger.  I have a few other hats.  I’ve been married for eleven wonderful years to my best friend, Alissa.  She puts up with all the aspects of me, including my monopolization of the computer to write posts that frequently feature the misadventures of our little family which includes our two kids, five year-old Harry and three year-old Annie.

So what do I write about?  Well, I’m writing in this year’s postaday2011 challenge, and I’ done a post each day, even if there have been a few incidents in which I clicked publish button wrong and didn’t find out until morning.  Of course, this means that I need to come up with something to write for public consumption every day.  To make that happen, I write about anything and everything.  Politics, news, religion, poetry, fiction, cooking, lifestyle, etc.  That also means that there are days where the quality of the post is questionable. 

Perhaps the real question is what is this blog about?  Well, it’s always been about anything, but when I started writing I thought I was going to write about politics, news, religion and such.  Well, as it turns out, life happened and I started to write about that in many different forms. 

So, take some Christianity and liberal politics and then empty the pantry into the pot, and you’ve got “Great”  Thoughts.  I am happy to welcome any new readers, as well as the wonderful regulars.  I encourage you to comment, like, retweet, post and above all, to join the conversation.   Thank you and welcome.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time for a Reintroduction?

  1. Angie Z. says:

    Christian liberal…that’s not an oxymoron? 🙂 It’s refreshing when I stumble upon others of this somewhat rare breed.

    • Andrew says:

      We’re not as rare as one might think. I’ve got a couple of links on the blogroll that you might like. God’s Politics is the blog for Jim Wallis’s organization. Fibonacci Faith is the link to my pastor’s blog. I don’t know if either self-identifies as “liberal”, but they inform my value system a great deal.

  2. Angie Z. says:

    PS Congrats on being featured on WordPress!

  3. Thank you! I’m excited to have discovered your blog.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

