Guilty Pleasure: Impending Doom

Yes, I have a guilty pleasure.  I’m fascinated by the prognostications of doomsayers.  It’s part of why I find disaster movies so much fun. 

I’m sure it goes back to my childhood.  Growing up in L.A., I was terrified of earthquakes.  Having never experienced one until the Whittier Narrows quake when I was fourteen, it was a fear of a very scary unknown.  I’d lie awake at night wondering if that vibration from a big rig rolling by on the 134 Freeway a mile way was going to break forth into the terror of The Big One.  I had a whole list of fears that I’d pray through each night; earthquakes, electrical fires in the walls, the cat defacating on my electric train set.  My prayers of protection were granted for the first two.  The last…not so much. 

Well, maturity and experience brought my fears into line with reality, and in what I’m sure is a coping mechanism, I developed an interest in disaster movies and end of the world scenarios.  Add in a few years watching the X-Files and the discovery of Art Bell the year I worked a swing shift, and a fascination was born. 

Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t actually believe in vast conspiracies and black helicopters.  I just find it entertaining.  Moreover, I have fun with the speculation, the “what if” factor. So when I’m bored, I check out websites and silently explore the world of the tin foil hat crowd.  To some degree, that speculation probably serves a purpose for me that horror movies do for others.  There’s something fun about being a little scared while knowing that you’re safe and secure.

I know.  I’m weird.

 

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

