Even More Culinary Adventures

I like spaghetti.  I really lik ite, especially if I get to make my special meat sauce.  Add in a salad and some garlic bread, and I’m in heaven…or Italy.  If I play my cards right, it’s hard to tell the difference. 

Well, one would think that those culinary tastes would not be terribly conducive to gluten free cooking.  Well, if one is willing to be a little adventurous, this is not the case at all.

Enter a fascinating little vegetable known as the spaghetti squash.  I must have seen it on TV or something, and I had to try it out.

Car trouble had derailed plans for a belated celebration of my mom’s birthday on Sunday, so we moved it to Wednesday.  I got home from work, baked some GF bread.  While the bread was rising, I threw together a salad before getting to work on the sauce.

This is where a problem occured.  It turns out that all those cans of tomato sauce were actually cans of kidney beans.  Never one to let a little setback like that break my stride, I made up a quick chili. 

As the sauce chili simmered, I got to work on the squash.  I’d never dealt with such a thing before, well except that I had.  Once I cut into the pale yellow spheroid, I found an interior remarkably similar to a pumpkin.  After deseeding it, I place the halves cut-side down in a baking dish with a cup of water and covered everything with for a half hour stay in a 375 degree oven with the bread. 

After  baking, I just held up the gourd and scraped it with a fork.  Sure enough, noodle-thin strands came cascading into the bowl. The only complicating factor was the heat. 

It was a hit, and there was still enough for dinner on Thursday and a lunch on Friday.

 

 

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Even More Culinary Adventures

  1. Ironica says:

    Yep, spaghetti squash is awesome! And much lower-carb than pasta, too.

    But… Tinkyada gluten-free pastas come in EVERY shape, and are really, really, REALLY good. Like people who just had regular wheat flour pasta can’t tell the difference.

    They even make lasagna noodles…

    • Andrew says:

      Hmmm…I’ll have to keep that in mind. The squash would never fool anyone. We’ve got a selection of quinoa pastas in the cupboard, but I’ll check our local GF store for Tinkyada.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

