What If One of Us Was God?

Today’s prompt asked bloggers to share whether and how they would change things if they were God and could start it all again. Naturally, I saw fit to post a link to my toast/cat theory. Yes, I was feeling a bit silly.

What I wasn’t expecting was how seriously people were going to take the question.

There were a surprising number of answers to the effect that the respondent could not possibly do any better. It was a bit disappointing to see so many writers unwilling to express an opinion on how they would remake the world were it possible to do so.

So here’s my thinking on the matter.  As a Christian, I happen to think God did a pretty good job.  I also recognize my human frailty and fallenness.  I’m not God.  I’m not going to displace Him in my mind or in anyone else’s. 

So, if I agree with the premise of the answers of which I’m critical,why am I critical in the first place? 

Well, there just seemed to be a timidity in those answers, a lack of imagination, or a lack of willingness to imagine the prospect.  So I guess my criticism comes down to this.

As a Christian I believe that God created humanity in His image.  But what does that really mean?  Well, if humanity’s distinguishing feature is being created in God’s image, then perhaps our search for the definition of that term should focus on that which separates humans from other animals. 

In a word, it’s “creativity.”

In nature, animals, and plants for that matter, produce many things that are beautiful in form.  But they all have a function.  A spider web provide a home and a means for catching food.  A flower is for reproduction.  Even a pearl is the oyster’s method of protecting soft tissue from irritants. Humans are the only species that produces art, music and literature for the sake of producing it.  Creativity is the manifestation of the imprint of the image of God. 

Just as we were created (for the record, I don’t find that incompatible with the theory of evolution), the Creator’s imprint on the human soul is the desire to create.  So, when we pass up a chance to think about what we would do if we could be the Creator, I feel like we’re denying a critical element of what makes us human.

That being said, I should probably answer the question.  If I were God and I created a world as amazing as this one, and in that process created a special species in my own image, I’d want them to be able to see and explore as much of the world as possible.  I’d want them to be able to fly, so I’d give them wings, and I’d want them to be able to explore under the sea, so I’d let them breath underwater. I think that would be pretty cool.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What If One of Us Was God?

  1. Such a wonderful thought. Wings would be an excellent addition.. would reduce traffic too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Quick Note for Email Subscribers « "Great" Thoughts

What are your "Great" Thoughts

