Identity Crisis!!!

I came across this list yesterday.  It lists the top 100 sci-i and fantasy books according to NPR listeners.    Now, I’ve always considered myself a fan of science fiction and fantasy. 

Your Picks: Top 100 Science-Fiction, Fantasy Books : NPR.

Natually, I went through the list.  It was somewhat depressing to learn that I’ve only read 10 of the 100 works listed.  I guess my reading list just expanded.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Identity Crisis!!!

  1. I think you need to give yourself credit for reading One book with your busy schedule so 10 is Awesome! Just keep on reading.

  2. John Keller says:

    Well I have read some where between half and 3/4 of the books on that list. I did not realize there where so many classic scifi I had missed. Andrew I do have or have had many books on that list if you want to barrow them I can check to see if I still have them. (if you haven’t read mote in gods eye read it it is excellent).

  3. Liz V. says:

    Wow!
    Great list. Thanks for posting it. I’ve read 21 but some of those include multiple books. For example, Patrick and I read through the entire Asimov Robots and Foundation series, quite the task. I predict The Hunger Games will make this list in another couple years.

    I recently read through Lord of the Rings again and loved every moment of it. It’s becoming applicable again. What an amazing piece of literature. It’s definitely in my top 5 favorite books of all time, if not my very favorite.

    These are some great ideas to load onto my kindle for our sabbatical. Yes!!

  4. Andrew says:

    I read the top three on the list. I read enough of the Wheel of Time and Sword of Truth series’ to count them, although WoT got too long. SoT got too preachy with the author’s objectivism.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

