Heeding the Muse

This began, largely, as a rewrite of Fear or Faith, but I think it’s an improvement:

Heeding the Muse

The house slumbers

Silent but for my wife’s peaceful breathing

I should be with her

Safely enveloped in sleep’s warm embrace

But sleep eludes me

The Muse whispers

Setting my heart racing

Stoking the embers of a fire suppressed

Though never extinguished

 

The Muse calls me from the warmth of my bed

To the darkened living room

I reach out, into the living night

Her breath, kissed with pine

Reaching through open windows

To caress my cheek.

 

Stretching with my senses,

I explore the silence that is not

A passing car

The laughter of children up too late

A ticking clock

The background hum of suburban night

 

But reaching out is not enough

“Reach in!” purrs The Muse

“Reach deep into your soul!

Grasp what lies dormant and shake it!

Awaken it for it is you!”

 

But I fear what I may awaken

I fear its power

I fear it because it is me

I fear it because it is unknown.

 

But in the unknown rests vulnerability.

In vulnerability rests courage

In courage rests discovery

In discovery rests knowledge

In knowledge rests power

In power rests…

 Self.

 

Picking up a notebook,

I walk to the living room.

Putting pen to paper,

I heed The Muse.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

