More Culinary Adventures

I think by now, everyone knows that we’re trying to go gluten free and natural in our cooking.  To that end, we’ve enlisted the help of Dorrie Lee to help teach us how to make the transition.  We’ve also started subscribing to Full Circle Farms, from whom we buy a box of produce every two weeks.  As a result, I now have a clue what to do with a zuchinni and I was able to cook up some tasty summer squash last week.  It was simple oven-roasting with some potatoes and rosemary, but it came out quite tasty. I made up a chicken friend rice dish, and I threw in some kale, a leafy green that I find fascinatingly cool.   I even used the broth that I made up from a roasted chicken and frozen a couple of weeks prior. 

The bottom line is that I am getting more confident in using new ingredients.  I even had a moment of near insanity at Harry’s soccer practice two weeks back.  I’d checked out the Full Circle recipe list for the week, even though we weren’t getting a box.  There was a recipe involving dandelion greens.  This stuck in my head.  So as Harry practiced, I was walking Annie along the retaining wall by the field.  Lo and behold, we came upon a large danedlion, far past its prime.  Still, it was a dandelion, and it was alive.  And I did see some green.  As we drove nearer to the weed, I contemplated finding a green piece and breaking it off for a sample.  Well, it turns out that the plant was old and tough and its leaves were a bit spiny.  It looked hopelessly inedible, so I did not partake.  Besides, I don’t want to know what chemicals had been used on it.

So that brings me to today.  It was the tax office’s company picnic, and we were supposed to bring something to share.  I wasn’t sure what to make until I saw this recipe on a friend’s blog.   Now, I’ve never heard of a caponata, and I’ve never even touched eggplant or capers, let alone worked with it.   Still, I decided to give it a go, and I’m glad I did.  I cut open the eggplant and diced it up.  It was an easy preparation, and turned out very tasty.  I’ll definitely be trying it again.  And I’ve learned how to not worry and love the eggplant.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Culinary Adventures

  1. Dorrie says:

    Andrew
    You are so brave to explore eggplant. I am delighted you tried and were successful. Keep up the good work.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

