Garden Update and Other Madness

Well, here’s the latest on garden front. A couple of weeks ago I harvested some lettuce from both the hydroponic planter and the McDonald’s one.  Well, that pretty much killed of the hydroponic lettuce. I’m not sure why, but the McDonald’s lettuce has come roaring back.  I  harvested and stored some more today. 

The chives and marjoram are growing. The basil and cilantro are doing fine as well. The potato plant is its transplant, and I was finally able to  get some more potting soil into the trash can. I refrained from throwing in two more sprouted potatoes.  What can I say?  They like that corner of my kitchen.

Today’s big news came from the pea plant.  I’ve been watching several pods fattening up and decided to try one today.  Sure enough, it was full of peas and they tasted pretty good.  So did the pod.  Yum!

I also spent some time harvesting herbs.  I can tell you that next year, I’m not buying any blend of herb seeds.  Each herb gets its own pot and a label.  Of course that’s not the case now.  I did buy the blend.  This begs the question:

Does anybody know a good resource for visually identifying herbs?

In other news, I got to go shopping with Annie.  She dressed for the occasion in a little sun dress, her play shoes, which are high heeled; she’s been walking and running in heels as long as she’s been walking. She was also decked out in bracelets and a necklace. She asked to be put down from the cart so she could dance.   She decided that her treat would be a Dora ball, so she carried it around the store, kicking it, dropping it, and even dancing with it.  The girl is a handful, but she did help me pick out some mallow seeds to plant.

Of course, when she ended up in blue shorts as jammies, she insisted on wearing a blue shirt. 

Oh yeah, we also moved our bookcases to make room or the piano, which arrives in two weeks.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

