Culinary Adventures

I’m not going to go into huge amounts of detail tonight, but I thought I’d give you an update on my adventures in the world of vegetables. 

First, there’s the “garden”.  This is actually pretty exciting.  The pea plant has gone crazy and overtook the two stakes.  While we were gone last week, the first flowers emerged.  I finally got a tomato cage and deployed it.  I broke off the top of a stem that had broken off, and there was a tiny pod.  I even managed to open it up to find a few tiny peas, no bigger than this period.  

I’ve also transplanted the cilantro and basil into larger pots, planted chives, and even given up on the Chia chives and tried planting some marjoram.  The hydroponic lettuce is a little wilted, but edible.  The McDonald’s lettuce has grown up quite nicely, and I even made a salad from it on Saturday.

Then there’s the potato plant.  I finally got a garbage can and repurposed it as a planter. I need more soil, but I went ahead and transplanted it.  Amazingly, there was at least one potato forming.  Now if I didn’t kill off the thing while transplanting it….

My next adventure involves our CSA box from Full Circle Farm. I picked it up last Wednesday and brought it home to find an avocado, several peaches, plums, and nectarines,a bunch of carrots, two ears of corn, three zuchinni, a large onion, some escarole, some red leave lettuce, and some kale.  I’ve had at least some of everything, and my only disappointment has been that I lost two pieces of fruit to spoilage.  I can’t wait for the next box.

Lastly, was my cooking lesson with Dorrie Lee.  She’s been helping Alissa and I adjust to  natural, low-sodium, low carb, local, sustainable, gluten-free eating and cooking.  Yesterday, she came over to help me learn some cooking techniques.  First, we cooked some beans.  Then we made a wonderful salad of all three of the lettuces that came from full circle,  carrots, zucchini, fresh rosemary, onion, the avocado, and sunflower seeds.  It was wonderful…and I’m not a salad guy.  We made a nice vinaigrette and then roasted some more veggies with rosemary.  The onions, carrots and zucchini were joined in the roasting pan by a sprig of garlic. 

Next, we cut up some chicken thighs, breaded them inPamela’s GF Baking Mix, eggs, and crushed GF pretzels.  It was the perfect fresh GF alternative to the chicken nuggets for which Harry and Annie have too great an affinity.  Some brown rice syrup and dijon mustard yielded a honey-mustard sauce. 

Last, we drained the beans and seasoned them for future use.  Needless to say, my mom was impressed with the dinner we put before her.  We were going to test out the chicken nuggets to see how they did frozen, but there were none left.

It’s important to note that everything was bursting with flavor, even though we did not add any salt beyond a little bit to bring out the natural moisture in the Kale.

I’ll say this for eating healthy.  It’s hard work, but it’s worth it.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Culinary Adventures

  1. Dorrie says:

    Wow!!!!! I am so excited for the Virtel family and what the future holds for them as they explore the culinary world and enjoy their garden and CSA box. I am enjoying seeing them grow and learn about food.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

