It begins…

You may have read that Alissa and I designated June as our get green, healthy, gluten-free and natural month.  Of course, we envisioned that happening earlier in the month, but we’ve gotten educated.  We’ve done the planning and we’re ready to start.  That’s part of the reason this post is going to be short and sweet.  We got home from Cashmere around seven.  It was just enough time for Alissa to throw the kids in the bath and for me to make a meal plan and a shopping list and head off to Central Market.  An hour and a half later, I returned home laden with more spinach than Popeye could handle, more produce thank I’ve purchased in a long time, local, free range chicken, and lots of nuts and rice and raisins. 

Of course, getting home is only half of the task.  I also had to put the large number or groceries in my small kitchen and then cook and prep lunches for tomorrow.  I made the same thing I wrote about the other night, but I added garlic, brocolli florets and peppers (of unknown degrees of heat) into the mix.  I also intended to put in a tiny bit of cayenne pepper.  Of course, intent and reality come into conflict when the shaker top comes off of the container and a good tablespoon of the stuff drops into the pan. 

Cayenne carrots; I’ll let you know how that works out.

Well, it begins in earnest tomorrow, so I’m going to hit the sack.

‘Night all!

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family Life, Simple Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

