The Beauty of Role Playing Games

Well, I was wrong.  I thought I’d have another chapter of Strum Nimblefingers up today, but I don’t think it’s going to happen.  I’m about to head off to the role-playing game session that will feather Strum’s debut.

Strum is illustrative of one of the great things about role-playing games.  The foster creativity and story telling.  Strum was not my original character for this game.  That was Rand, who gets mentioned in the first paragraph of Strum.  Rand died of tax-season-induced neglect and I needed to create a new character. 

Initially, Strum was just going to be a fighter.  Hence the references to size and strength.  But in the interest of making my character unique, I stumbled over the idea of him being a bard.  I’m not going to go into too much more detail than that, in the interest of the story, but coming up with the back story for Strum, the role-playing character’s uniqueness is what has generated this story.  Now, that story, initially a character background for a game, has evolved and can take on many forms.  The game itself is pretty comedic in tone, so Strum is going to be something of an Elvis character.  The story that I’m writing however has potential as a fairy tale, or as part of a huge epic. 

All that came from one replacement RPG character.  That’s the beauty of RPG’s at their best.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beauty of Role Playing Games

  1. Good luck Strum. 🙂 I like being a fighter too.

    • Andrew says:

      He fared pretty well. The only downside of playing a bard is that one is expected to RP by singing. Oh well…it will just be something my fellow gamers won’t be able to unremember.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

