Fun with Vegetables

Yum.  That’s all I can say.  I’m getting a late post in tonight because Alissa and I were getting ourselves educated on gluten free living, natural food and healthy eating.  I just used some of what I learned to cook up something healthy and simple to go in my lunch tomorrow.

I started with heating a little oil and a few fennel seeds.

Then I added a chopped onion.

When that was thoroughly sautee’d, I added some carrots followed by celery. 

I sauteed those for a bit before adding a few spinach leaves and a bit of fresh cilantro (from my “herb garden”)

Last, I threw in some garlic powder and ground cumin and added it to some rice that I’d cooked up.

I had roasted some almonds earlier in the evening and had a few raw ones left.  As an afterthought, I threw them into the hot pan, roasted them and added them to the rice dish.

It tastes amazing.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Simple Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun with Vegetables

  1. Ironica says:

    It sounds amazing, too! And it’s all things I can eat… which is a feat!

  2. I had some hot last night, and I’m eating it cold as we speak. I’m trying to cobble together low carb, low protein, low sodium, gluten free and as unprocessed as possible. Stay tuned for more food adventures.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

