Where do Baby Potatoes Come From?

Okay, so are there any gardeners out there?  You may remember that, on the day that I did much of my planting, I went to make dinner and found a sprouting potato.  I had some soil left, so I threw the potato, along with another one that looked to be on the edge of sprouting in, covered both with soil and started watering.  Nothing seems to have happened with the second potato, but the sprouting one has grown into a lovely little potato plant.

So, my question is this:

What do I do now?  Specifically, if the plant is growing from the potato, then how to I end up with a harvestable potato?   Seriously, if the plant grows from the tuber, then where does the tuber come from? 

I know some of you are probably laughing at this gardening newbie, but I really want to know.

Help. Me.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where do Baby Potatoes Come From?

  1. Liz V. says:

    The tuber sends out underground shoots that grow into new tubers. If you can, add more dirt to cover the stem as that will encourage more shoots/ potatoes. When the potato flowers, you should be able to gently feel down in the soil and harvest “new” potatoes if you want, or wait until they get bigger to harvest them. My mom always picked the flowers off so I’m trying that this year, although I didn’t the last two years and I grew some good potatoes. Good luck! I love that you guys are doing some gardening!!

  2. Andrew says:

    Thanks, Liz. So right now I have it in a pot that is something like 8″ in diameter, or not very big in any case. I’d say the plant is a good 6″ above the soil and pretty leafy. Can it be transplanted to a bigger container, and should I cover the leaves with soil?

    Maybe I should take a picture and post it.

    The other option is that I have another potato that’s about ready to sprout. I could probably cut it up and “do it right” from the begining.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

