Good Bye Five O’Clock World

Ahh…five o’clock.  Even in an age of flexible work schedules, the words evoke that feeling of freedom that comes with the end of the work day.  I’ve had other work schedules myself, but I’ve spent the vast majority of my work life with a schedule that runs 8 or 8:30 to 4:30 or 5:00. 

Well, all that is about to change.  We made the decision as part of our plan to make Harry’s Kindergarten schedule work in the fall.  Given how we tend to handle transition, we decided to start the new routine with the summer. And so on Monday, I will be starting my 7 to 3:30 schedule. 

I’m looking forward to it.  It will take me out of prime commute time.  I’ll have the option to make dinners that take longer than a half hour to cook (roasts and such).  I’ll have time with the kids.  I’ll get to enjoy good weather and daylight, even in the dead of winter.

The cost, of course, is that I’ll have to get up earlier and not be involved in getting the kids out in the morning. 

The irony is that today, the last day that I was scheduled to leave at 5, I had to leave at 4 to avoid working overtime because of the Memorial Day holiday.

Well, that’s about it.  I’m off for a date with some cough syrup.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

