Deja Vu

What is the deal with deja vu?  It happens to me from time to time, but more than just a fleeting feeling, I remember long, detailed interactions.

For example, tonight Alissa and I were standing in our room.  The kids were in bed and I was eager to get on with the stuff I needed to do before I could sit down for a blog post and the second half of  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I.   Alissa was talking about some tactics she had successfully used to improve Harry’s behavior and attitude.  While listening to her, I looked around.  We had had this conversation before.  We were standing in the same places.  Some hard work (mainly on Alissa’s part) had resulted in lots of stuff on our bed that would need clearing before we could sleep. I had that urgent desire to move on and get my work done, but it was held in check because I was interesting in hearing of Alissa’s success.  I even remember thinking “hey, deja vu!” mentioning it to Alissa, and even hearing her tell me that she doesn’t get deja vu and finds it a bit creepy.  The sequence went on for a good 5 minutes.

Does any one else have experiences like this?  Is it  The Matrix resetting?  Or are the wires just crossed in my brain?

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deja Vu

  1. Dana says:

    This happens to me often.
    I think I remember reading somewhere, many moons ago, that the sense of deja vu occurs when your memory records an even twice; at the same time.

    That’s pretty weird and creepy too, I think. 😉

What are your "Great" Thoughts

