It’s ALIVE!!!

I’ve been writing about a dead bad guy a lot lately.  What do you say we shift gears?

I’ve never been a huge plant person.  That’s not to say that I have anything against plants.  I just haven’t done a whole lot with them.  I was given a pine seedling to plant in my yard by the Tree People in second grade.  Sadly Peter Pine did not thrive, unlike his cousin, Terrence Tree which I think may thrive in the yard of my friend Clint’s childhood home to this day.  In defense of my home soil, Herbert, the living Christmas Tree that my dad planted on the other side of the yard had a strong will to live, so much so that his trunk made two turns of nearly ninety degrees to reach sunlight.  Herbert still lives.

I enjoyed Mr. Nakatani’s horticulture class in seventh grade, and I planted my share of trees on Mount Eagle Rock, even when it involved extensive frollicking in poison oak to do so.  Apparently, I’m not allergic to poison oak.

But that’s about it.  I don’t have a yard.  I don’t go out buying houseplants.  I figure I’ve got two kids to keep alive, and that’s plenty.  Still I’m not the person who I know as The Black Thumb of Death who managed to kill a spider plant.  Seriously. 

Still, I have completely unrealistic visions of some utopian organic urban vegetably garden on my balcony.  Alissa and I even have some plans to actually try to take some steps in that direction.  It will be modest,  just the chia herb garden that I got for Christmas a couple of years ago and maybe some carrots or something. 

And there’s one other addition.  A couple of weeks ago, Alissa was home with a sick Annie so I went to pick up Harry from preschool and take him to day care.  He came out of class with a little styrofoam cup (hmmm…green-ness needs a little work there) of potting soil concealing a pea seed. 

Well, we got it home with only a little soil spilling in my car.  We’ve kept the soil moist and put the cup on the window sill.  It had been a couple of days since I’d checked it, but last night at dinner, I took a look.  Sure enough, two green shoots were extending up about an inch out of the soil.  Harry thought it was pretty cool.  So did I for that matter. 

It would be even cooler if I’d taken a picture and included it in this post.  Oh well.  Maybe I’ll update later.

This does raise another question, however.  For some reason, the herb garden was not the only Chia item I got that Christmas.  I’ve also got an unopened Chia Obama (happy version).  I’ve been debating whether to deploy it or to keep it sealed as a collector’s item.  What better question could there be for a poll?

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s ALIVE!!!

  1. alissa says:

    Sorry, honey. No Obama chia heads (with or without leafy green goodness) will be going on the living room shelf. Poll or no poll.

    Love, your wife.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

