Slow News Da–What? We Got Him?!!!

Wow!  What a weekend!  Annie was alseep and I had just turned Harry over to Alissa for her to finish putting him down for the night.  I pick up the computer and opened Facebook to see what was going on before doing a post about a weekend  that featured five different birthday events for three different five-year olds over the course of three days.  I was about to subject you to various anecdotes about cute or funny things my kids did or said.  I was going to discuss how exhausted I am.

Then, I saw it.  It was a status update with what appears to be a photo of a TV with David Gregory’s face and a special report banner  at the bottom of the screen.  The text of the update was “osama bin laden is reported dead may 1, 2011”.  Well, needless to say, I started checking my news sources, and it became very clear that the news was in the process of breaking. Finally, I gave up trying to find information in the internet and did things the old fashioned way; I turned on the TV in  time to see the lead in to President Obama’s speech.

The description the chain of events leading from a tip in August to tonight’s special forces raid read like something out of a Tom Clancy novel, a story of the discipline and excellence that are evidenced by our military and intelligence communities at their best. The President’s speech was as serious, as presidential as I’ve ever seen.  What’s stunning to me is that the final lead up to Obama giving the order would have been going on while he was producing his birth certificate (we don’t have time for this silliness, indeed).  Apparently the order was given on Friday, before the President’s comedic performance at the White House Correspondent’s Association Dinner.  Gives new meaning to “No Drama Obama.”

I was watching NBC, so I noted one bit of irony.  The special coverage ended at the 9.  It was replaced by “Celebrity Apprentice.”

But what of the actual news?  Well, it’s good news.  I’ve always maintained that I don’t think neutralizing Bin Ladin will end Al Quada or international terrorism.  I never thought it was a good idea to go into Afghanistan.  I say this now, because I don’t want to come off as someone who has been gung ho on gettting Bin Laden.  I haven’t.  That being said, I’ve never been opposed to bringing Bin Laden to justice.  I’ve just been skeptical of basing our entire foreign policy on a man hunt.  I’m thrilled that Bin Laden was eliminated as he way.  It’s exactly what I would have predicted.

As for the celebrations, I struggle with those.  I think they’re is something fundamentally wrong with celebrating the death of another human being.  Even with all the justification provided by Bin Laden’s bloody, violent life , I have to go back to the fact that just like all our enemies, he was one of God’s children.  Jesus died to redeem him just as much as he died to redeem you or me.  So I can’t “celebrate” his death.

Still, I’m happy that he will no longer threaten innocent people.  He is beyond human judgment .  And who knows, maybe I’ve been underestimating his importance  all these years.   Maybe we can get out of Afghanistan now.  Maybe, maybe, maybe. Maybe we can feel less fearful.  Maybe we can have more confidence about our nation’s future.

I can say this without equivocation.   Congratulations to our soldiers and intelligence community and our President and his administration.  And thank you.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in National Security, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow News Da–What? We Got Him?!!!

  1. Pingback: Obama, Osama and 2012 « "Great" Thoughts

What are your "Great" Thoughts

