What’s Andrew Reading? Blue Like Jazz

Well, I had hoped to write something more substantial tonight, but Harry’s carrying on Annie’s stomach bug made it very clear that it was not to be.   Last Easter we were sick as well, although by Good Friday, Harry was done.  Annie was still on the mend and Alissa and I both … um… manifested symptoms simultaneously.  Literally simultaneously.  I can hope we don’t get it. 

But enough of that.  Today was Good Friday.  I’m not really sure what to say about that, which probably makes me a weak evangelist.  Actually, I do want to recommend a book I’m just finishing called Blue Like Jazz: Non-religious thoughts on Christan Spirituality.  It’s by a man named Donald Miller, and it cuts through a lot of the ways Christian religion gets in the way of Christian faith. He writes about his own spiritual journey from his conservative upbringing in Texas, which was marked by plenty of religion but was devoid or any real meaning to a deeper, and more fulfilling faith.  The book spoke to me, giving my voice to what I see as frequent disconnects between the church, particularly the American church and the message of ministry of Jesus.  I would strongly recommend this book.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Books, What's Andrew Reading? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

