One Season Ends, Another Begins

First, for those of you here in WesternWashington, you need not fear.  I am not going to wax poetic about the coming of spring again.  I’ve learned my lesson.  When I do so, we get a cold snap and snow. 

So I’m not writing about meteoroligical seasons.   I’m writing about seasons on life.  As you are all painfully aware, yesterday (Monday) was the end of tax season.  In this case, it dovetails with a peak time in my other job at an egg company.  So work life has most definitely been busy.  And of course the Easter rush at the egg company is still in full swing.  But this morning, Alissa and I both went in to work late.  We had a nice little Starbucks breakfast before attending the parent’s orientation at what may end up being Harry’s kindergarten in the fall. 

I can’t believe we’ve arrived at this point.  It seems like yesterday that he was born, but here is, a little boy ready to start school.  It was strange being in a room with other parents.  I was looking around realizing that the children of these parents are going to be Harry’s classmates and friends.  I don’t have any contact with anyone I knew in preschool, but some of  my Kindergarten classmates went with me all the way through school.  It’s disconcerting that Harry has reached that stage, that he’s poised to meet those people.  He’s on the edge of a new season.

There are still a lot of questions that need to be answered.  Half day or full day?  Do we keep him at his home building, to we try to get him into the district that’s closer to Alissa’s work?  And, of course, there’s the ever-present question of transportation.  But those questions are practical, and they’re the ones that ultimately work out one way or another.  They’re not deal breakers, or stoppers.  While they will have an impact, they will not stop Harry from starting school.

The season is changing. As inexorably as winter follows autum, so comes Kindergarten and elementary school. 

…and the adventure continues.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Personal Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

