Stick a Fork In Me

Folks, it’s been a busy day.  I did take Alissa out to lunch for her birthday yesterday, but I had to work last night so today became family celebration day. For her present, Alissa asked that I clean up the house, make her a nice dinner and watch the kids while she had  lunch with her friends.  So I started off by going shopping this morning.  I’d already resigned myself to making a red velvet cake out of a box.  The store only had red velvet cupcakes, but the guy said it was a “killer” recipe.  I assumed that meant good.  It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t terribly velvety.  It was more akin to a chocolate cake with red food coloring.  And making the cream cheese frosting from the box ingredients just didn’t fly very well.  Anyway, after getting home, Alissa went and had lunch with some girlfriends and seems to have had a blast. This was the birthday present that she requested, so  I spent the afternoon cleaning the kitchen, baking the cupcakes, cleaning the living room and dining room, taking out the trash, starting dinner (chicken cordon bleu…again premade at the store deli as I had to subordinate my culinary ambitions in favor of expediency in light of the fact that I was watching the kids), frosting the cupcakes and finishing dinner. Dinner was Chicken Cordon Bleu, Near East Long Grain and Wild Rice, pierogies, and Caesar salad.  The kids had chicken nuggets and fries, and we finished up with cupcakes and ice cream.

So, needless to say, I’m beat, and I’m pretty sure the world can wait for my analysis of the news of the day until tomorrow.

I did want to take this opportunity to highlight a couple of features of “Great” Thoughts.  First, there is the “Ask Andrew” tab at the top.  If you want to suggest a topic by way of a question, that’s how to do it.  Second, is my Twitter feed at @andrewviertel.  It’s pretty much always been there, but I’ve never mentioned it.  Not only does it carry new “Great” Thoughts posts, but I frequently tweet articles and editorials that I find interesting. I’ve been contemplating reworking some things about “Great” Thoughts, and one option is to set up a “Great” Thoughts Twitter account and Facebook page.  I’ll let you all know if I do those things.

The last item is something new, within the last couple of days.  Have you ever wondered what other crazy people are doing the Post a Day challenge?  Well, I now have an rss feed of other Post a Day posts.  Check them out over on the side bar.

Well, with that, I’ll just say “Stick a fork in me.  I’m done.”  Good night everyone!

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

